Someday You’ll Learn

I’m no expert, and I certainly don’t claim to be. On anything–life, love, faith, people…

I panic when my grad professors call me a co-professional. Co-nothing. I’m 21, I’m here to learn (from them), and I currently know nothing. I’m not ready to be a co-professional. That’s why I signed up for this.

Anytime I start thinking I’ve got it all together, life makes it clear that I, in fact, do not. That’s called eating humble pie. It’s an unpleasant but extremely healthy part of the human experience.

So the number of subjects I’m an expert on is exactly zero. Have we sufficiently established this? Good.

I don’t think there’s anything wrong with taking a moment to appreciate how far I’ve come, though.

I’m a big people watcher. I always have been. Call me a stereotypical introvert, but seldom will you find me at the center of whatever is going on (unless I’m SUPER comfortable with the people around me). Instead, you’ll find me on the fringes of the action, sitting quietly, watching, thinking. And especially when I’m watching people younger than I am, I find myself smiling a little. Because they remind me of…me. And I find myself thinking, “Someday you’ll learn.”

Not in a condescending way. Because we all have to learn. I still have to learn.

Oh, sweet girl.

Someday you’ll learn that you can’t be with your boyfriend every waking minute of the day, and it’s a good thing, not a crisis.

Someday you’ll learn that what happens in your relationship when you’re apart might tell you more than what happens when you’re together.

Someday you’ll learn that being in a committed relationship doesn’t mean you have to be rude to everyone else.

Someday you’ll learn that attention is not the same thing as love.

Someday you’ll learn that there is so much more to the college experience than boys.

Someday you’ll learn that it’s ok to stop dumbing yourself down. It’s ok to be good at what you do.

Someday you’ll learn that having a few truly loyal friends is better than being the most popular girl in the room.

Oh, guys.

Someday you’ll learn that there’s so much more to a girl than what she looks like and how well she can cook.

Someday you’ll learn that you don’t have to be the most macho guy in the room. Or the smartest. Or the most anything.

Someday you’ll learn, as one of my best guy friends recently put it, that there’s so much more to life than “gains and baes.”

Oh, people.

Someday you’ll learn that life is easier if you can laugh at yourself. I’m still learning this.

Someday you’ll learn that God really is in control. I’m still learning this.

Someday you’ll learn that you can’t always expect a round of applause for a job well done. I’m still learning this.

Someday you’ll learn that you can’t do it all yourself. I’m still learning this.

Someday you’ll learn that being a follower of Christ means making the conscious decision to follow Him and trust Him. Every. Single. Day. I’m still learning this.

Someday you’ll learn that serving others makes you happier than sitting around stewing in your own personal problems. I definitely have a long way to go on this.

Someday you’ll learn that there’s a great big world outside the campus gates. There are days when I still forget this.

I’m not perfect. I’m not trying to be condescending. I’m not trying to stereotype freshmen, or sophomores, or girls, or guys, or…. I’m just sharing a few things that my friends and I have learned over the last 4-5 years.

Life happens on a learning curve.

A lot of learning comes from past mistakes.

Last night, I had to remind myself that being gracious to other people is better than having the wittiest comeback. Because I wasn’t being gracious.

Ah, Mikayla. Someday you’ll learn.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

