A Wild Night (In)

No one ever warned me about what happens to your social life after college. Most of my friends are now scattered across various and sundry parts of the world. A lot of them decided to get married for some reason. And of those, a few are having kids. Already.

Now, don’t get me wrong–my friends are great people. I love them. I’m happy for them. And those that are still in the area are pretty cool about inviting me to events, or even just to their place for a cup of coffee and a chat. But, I have come to realize that I am the single friend who is beginning to relate to everyone else a little less every day. They’re looking up recipes for dinner, worried that their husbands will think that they spent too much on the groceries, etc. And me…well, I’m still worried about papers and presentations. We are concerned about fundamentally different things.

I love my friends, and I enjoy spending time with them, no matter how it happens. I will ooh and ah over their wedding china, pots and pans, new sofa, vacuum… I will be as excited as they are. I am invited fairly regularly. Sometimes, due to the craziness of a grad school schedule, I even have to turn down several invitations. Which is another difference–when you’re still a student, you still have stuff to do after 5pm.

So there are times when I actually get crazy lonely. Because it’s not the same. There’s no more saying, “Bring your homework and crash in my room. I’ll make coffee.” There’s no more army of girlfriends at lunch telling you that six months post-breakup is past time to pull yourself together. There are no more artist series plans based on the understanding that anyone who gets asked by a guy may bail.

And so, after a fairly lonely 2016, I decided it was time for a change.

I’ve always kinda scoffed at the whole “date yourself” thing. Yeah, yeah, love yourself, blah, blah, blah. How narcissistic can a person be? And then I started reading through the ideas.

I’ve gone to plays and concerts by myself before. I’ve taken myself out for coffee before. I’ve gone to the library by myself before. I’ve actually done a lot of things by myself for a while, because I’m an introvert, and so that’s how I naturally roll. So now, I just have to remember that I enjoy it.

Snow came this weekend, and very few people are back from Christmas break, so I got bored out of my mind today. And so I began to look at “date yourself” ideas thinking that I would follow through next weekend. But then I had an idea.

The past few months, I’ve struggled to get out of bed in time to make myself look decent, mostly because I’m constantly exhausted, but also because why should I wake up earlier to do my hair? Who am I trying to impress? And so, last semester, I set a new personal record–ten days straight of having my hair in a ponytail, despite hearing my mother’s voice in my head asking if I was wearing my hair up every day and telling me to cut it out. And this quote from Mean Girls: 

mean-girls-quote

So today, I got dressed up and did my hair and makeup (even looked up makeup tutorials) for no reason other than because I felt like it.

15780811_1403578703019507_2521683935962994053_n15966007_1403626046348106_6674973544777816751_n

And then I decided to make myself a fancy dinner.

15966326_1403626083014769_8022285633032507531_n

Ok, so it was Velveeta shells and cheese with a barbecue chip crumble and a dash of cayenne pepper. And iced tea. And two squares of chocolate for desert. (Don’t ask me why I have a champagne flute. It’s a long story, but I swear it has nothing to do with me consuming alcohol.) So I can’t light the candle? So the flowers are some dried baby’s breath from the last bouquet I received (last April, but who’s counting?) and a bunch of random decor shoved in a glass Coke bottle? Hey, this is my date, I can do what I want!

I turned on some ambient lighting,

15871729_1403626116348099_5347929211712075872_n

And then I found a Frank Sinatra playlist on YouTube. And I sat down to eat. And for a few peaceful moments, I thought about…nothing. Absolutely nothing. And then I got very weirded out by what I was doing and began to think that I should probably not be left alone for long periods of time.

Oh, well. It worked for a few minutes.

I then tried to teach myself how to do the Charleston via some YouTube tutorials. This was a largely unsuccessful experience, because I was raised a good fundamental Baptist girl, which means I cannot dance. At all. But I tried.

Next up: whatever movie I feel like.

Not a bad first date with me.

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “A Wild Night (In)

  1. aa782015 says:

    Then there are those of us weird married people who are in grad school too…That’s a fun attempt at two worlds at once.

    Enjoy the time you get to yourself. Sometimes I wish that I had more time for myself. I think that’s just human nature. Whatever we have, we’re still thinking we’d be more content with something different.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Just Me says:

    I really enjoyed this poignant glimpse of your life. Made me smile. Great writing and message. When a little loneliness sets in, if we can’t enjoy our own company, we might be in trouble, right? As a woman in my 40’s, career obsessed and a bonafide bachelorette, I find this message timeless, so thank you for sharing!

    I’m a reader now.

    You a total babe, too, miss thang! 😉

    Good luck with the rest of your studies. 🍎

    Liked by 1 person

  3. MiniGinger says:

    I tried to teach myself to belly dance with just a mirror. I think all I managed was looking like some kind of undulating worm because I had the same upbringing as you, but it was a great workout!

    Like

Leave a Reply

