A Walk Around Furman

If you’ve heard anything about the Greenville area, you probably know that it’s full of colleges. And one of the schools in the area, Furman University, is often mentioned for the beauty of its campus.

I’ve passed by the campus multiple times on my way to my uncle’s home, and I’ve had several friends who had their engagement and/or wedding photos taken at Furman, but I’ve never been by to see the place myself.

This past weekend, I was out adventuring with Allison, one of my favorite former roommates. She and her husband often go walking at Furman, so when we saw the campus coming up, she decided it was time I visited.

Since it was the middle of the day (and August in SC is super hot and muggy), we didn’t spend a lot of time exploring, but I’m going to show you what I did see.

We took a peek into the snack shop and Barnes and Noble store. I have to admit, I was a little jealous. What really caught my eye, though, was the rose garden.

rose garden

roses

fountain

 

It’s such a pretty, peaceful little spot. The brick walkway, the little gazebo, and the fountain give it a charming, old world look. And there are multiple colors and varieties of roses.

Of course, who could leave without snapping a picture of the lake and the clock tower? The chimes started ringing just as Allison and I headed for the car.

lake

 

Our spontaneous trip to Furman was definitely worth it. One of these days, when it’s cooler, we’ll have to go again.

Leave a Reply

